Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 10th, 2009

Thanks to Robert Frost, of course:

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

There is a lot to be said for stopping for a moment in the bustle of everyday life, just to soak in a moment of quiet joy, beauty and tranquility.  A baby boy smiling from his crib when he sees you, happy and content just to see you, or laughing just because you’re wiggling your hand and making silly sounds.  A toddler girl peacefully sleeping after a day full of coughing and wheezing, finally restful because she’s holding your hand as you tell her a story of blue frogs.  Being loved by a child is a precious thing.  When a two year old climbs on your back just to kiss your head and murmur “I love you”, it’s OK to take a moment or five, give her a hug back, and tell her you love her too.  Even though there is always much to do… those moments are even more important.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers