Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 22nd, 2009

Carousel

My boss sent me a link to a fascinating little movie as a research datapoint.  There are a lot of very cool and interesting things happening in this, especially for a technical artist like me.  I keep looking at things, trying to pick apart what is going on, and how I’d replicate it or do it better.  There are some great visuals in this short film, and it would have been a blast to work on it.

One of the more interesting things that popped out at me is that the movie is designed to run on an endless, seamless loop.  As such, it really changed how I viewed the character that the movie “starts” on… but nothing moved, it’s entirely a matter of context and extra revealed information.  It’s a bit like how Shamus described a key character in Bioware’s Jade Empire game; the character is the same one, it’s just the new information that the viewer/player is given changes how you look at the character.

To me, that’s great writing, and I wish we would see more of that in games.

So, without further ado,

Carousel

(And yes, that’s sort of spoilerish.  Sorry.)

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers